Halbro North West Leagues Providing grass roots rugby since 2002

Minutes of Committee Meeting - 16 November 2020

Minutes of the AGM Committee of NOWIRUL

16th November 2020 @ 7:00pm – Held by Zoom

Present: -
Committee Fred Swarbrick, John Powell, Peter Rhodes, Greg King, Ian Cosens, Paul Riordan, Craig Hine, Tommy Hughes, Andy Thompson, Craig Ross, Sara Shackleton and Peter Harrison

Minutes of the last Meeting:-
AT’s son mileage calculations put on the back burner, will help if required. Agreed as a true record


GK sent out Finance information pre-meeting


2 South, 4 North, 5 West, 5 East and 4 East plus the cup competition still up for sponsorship when we have something for them to sponsor. Raise at AGM. Player injury insurance may be a sponsor – promote to clubs
All sponsorship proposals/enquiries to IC


Fixture took place re the current situation. It appears that Buxton may not have gone bust as previously reported. Aspull have moved to ADM from the RFU leagues.
The RFU have now introduced clusters with teams of 6 or 7. We could match 1st 2nd and 3rd team fixtures to the same clusters. JP shared a league structure based on the new RFU clusters. To be raised at the AGM for discussion
If start in January go to fixtures already proposed, if not then go to clusters with the RFU fixture dates
Player retention/recruitment particularly in the 18 – 23 age group is falling and that combined with the Covid restrictions/fears what sort of team/teams are clubs going to be turning out. And due to the lack of training how soon? The RFU RDOs are now vastly reduced and are concentrating on coach development and training

All committee are up for re-election and are willing to stand
Discussion took place around how to manage a large zoom meeting. Giving all the opportunity to speak without interruption and background chat. JP and PR  will manage the meeting

Topics for discussion should be based on questions but not encourage discussion and debate on topics not under our control

Next Meeting:- AGM 17th November 2020 @ 7:00pm – Committee to meet at 6:45pm